

Meeting Minutes

Common Council

Tuesday, April 22, 2025 5:00 PM	Council Chambers & City Hall Parking Lot
---------------------------------	--

Organizational Session

A. CALL TO ORDER

B. ROLL CALL (by Aldermanic Districts)

Alderpersons Present: 10 - Andrew Dunbar, Chad Beeman, Michael Cummings, Jim Brey, William DeBaets, Brian Anderson, Bill Schlei, Eric Sitkiewitz, Brett Norell and Todd Reckelberg

C. NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT OF COMMON COUNCIL

Mayor Nickels announced that nominations were in order for the election of President of the Common Council, who also acts as the Chaplain. Alderperson Schlei nominated Alderperson Cummings. There being no other nominations, Alderperson Brey made a motion to close the nominations and cast an unanimous ballot, seconded by Alderperson Schlei. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Sitkiewitz, ANderson, Schlei, Norell, Reckelberg

D. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT OF COMMON COUNCIL

Alderperson Cummings is elected as President of the Common Council.

E. ALDERPERSON IS DECLARED ELECTED AS PRESIDENT OF THE COMMON COUNCIL (takes Oath)

Mayor Nickels declared Alderperson Cummings elected as President of the Common Council and the City Clerk administered the oath of office

F. DRAWING FOR SEATS

Members proceeded to draw for seats with the results being as follows: Seat/Name - (1) Beeman, (2) Reckelberg, (3) Schlei, (4) Dunbar, (5) DeBaets, (6) Anderson, (7) Brey, (8) Sitkiewitz, (9) Norell, (10) Cummings

G. SHORT RECESS TO TAKE NEW SEATS

H. ADOPTION OF COMMON COUNCIL CODE OF CONDUCT AND COMMON COUNCIL RULES FOR 2025-2026

<u>25-0319</u> Common Council Code of Conduct, April 2025

Moved by Alderperson Norell, seconded by Alderperson Cummings, that the Code of Conduct be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Aye: 10 Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Anderson, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Norell and Reckelberg
- 25-0320 Common Council Rules 2025-2026

Moved by Alderperson Sitkiewitz, seconded by Alderperson Cummings, that the Common Council Rules be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Anderson, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Norell and Reckelberg

I. STANDING COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

A motion was made by Cummings, seconded by Brey, that these Standing Committee Appointments be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Anderson, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Norell and Reckelberg

J. ELECTION OF COMMON COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE TO THE PLAN COMMISSION

Alderperson Sitkiewitz nominated Alderperson Brey for Plan Commission. No other nominations where made. Alderperson Sitkiewitz made a motion to close nominations and cast an unanimous ballot, seconded by Alderpson Cummings. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye - Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Sitkiewitz, Anderson, Schlei, Norell, Reckelberg

K. APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF REVIEW

A motion was made by Alderperson DeBaets, seconded by Alderperson Cummings, that these Board of Review appointments be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Anderson, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Norell and Reckelberg

L. ADJOURN TO SWEARING IN CEREMONY TO BE HELD AT 5:30 P.M. OUTSIDE OF CITY HALL

A motion was made by Alderperson Cummings, seconded by Alderperson Norell, that this meeting be adjourned at 5:10 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Dunbar, Beeman, Cummings, Brey, DeBaets, Anderson, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Norell and Reckelberg

Mackenzie Reed City Clerk