

Meeting Minutes

Common Council

Tuesday, April 16, 2024	5:30 PM	Council Chambers
	Note: This meeting will also	b be held via remote conferencing
		software (Zoom)

Organizational Session

A. CALL TO ORDER

B. ROLL CALL

Alderpersons Present:	9 -	Brett Vanderkin, Chad Beeman, Michael Cummings, Tim Boldt, Todd Reckelberg,
		Bill Schlei, Eric Sitkiewitz, Jim Brey and William DeBaets
Alderpersons Absent:	1 -	Brett Norell

C. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & INVOCATION

D. NEWLY ELECTED COUNCIL MEMBERS TAKE OATH OF OFFICE

District 4: Jim Brey District 5: William DeBaets District 6: Eric Sitkiewitz District 8: Bill Schlei

Moved by Vanderkin, second by DeBaets, to recess for 20 minutes. The
motion carried by the following vote:Aye: 6 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, DeBaets
Nay: 3 - Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey
Meeting went into recess until 5:57 p.m.Alderperson Norell arrived at 5:52 p.m.Alderperson Norell arrived at 5:52 p.m.10 - Brett Vanderkin, Chad Beeman, Michael Cummings, Tim Boldt, Todd Reckelberg,
Brett Norell, Bill Schlei, Eric Sitkiewitz, Jim Brey and William DeBaets

NEWLY ELECTED COUNCIL MEMBERS TAKE OATH OF OFFICE

District 9: Brett Norell

E. NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT OF COMMON COUNCIL

Mayor Nickels announced that nominations were in order for the election of President of the Common Council, who also acts as the Chaplain. Alderperson Sitkiewitz nominated Alderperson Schlei. Alderperson Reckelberg nominated Alderperson Vanderkin. There being no other nominations, Alderperson Brey made a motion to close the nominations, seconded by Alderperson Sitkiewitz.

F. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT OF COMMON COUNCIL

Alderperson Schlei is elected a President of the Common Council. The votes were as follows: Alderperson Schlei: Beeman, Cummings, Brey, Sitkiewitz, Boldt, Schlei Alderperson Vanderkin: Vanderkin, DeBaets, Norell, Reckelberg

G. ALDERPERSON IS DECLARED ELECTED AS PRESIDENT (TAKES OATH)

Mayor declared Alderperson Schlei elected as President of the Common Council and the City Clerk administered the oath of office.

H. DRAWING FOR SEATS

Members proceeded to draw for seats with the results being as follows: Seat/Name - (1) Beeman, (2) DeBaets, (3) Cummings, (4) Norell, (5) Boldt, (6) Reckelberg, (7) Sitkiewitz, (8) Vanderlin, (9) Brey, (10) Schlei

I. SHORT RECESS TO TAKE NEW SEATS

J. ADOPTION OF COUNCIL CODE OF CONDUCT & COUNCIL RULES

24-1404 Common Council Rules 2024-2025

Moved by Vanderkin, seconded by Reckelberg, that the Common Council Rules be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

Moved by Reckelberg, seconded by Vanderkin, that the Common Council Rules be amended to read as follows: Item 16. Members of the public will be permitted to speak at any Common Council meeting on any matter of public interest. The comments from each speaker shall be limited to five (5) minutes in length unless extended by majority action of the Common Council. Public input that is submitted via email will be attached to the agenda and may or may not be read during the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

Moved by Vanderkin, seconded by Schlei, that the Common Council Rules be adopted as amended. The motion carried by the following vote: Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

24-1403 Common Council Code of Conduct, April 2024

Moved by Schlei, seconded by Vanderkin, that the Code of Conduct be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

K. ELECTION OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE TO PLAN COMMISSION

Alderperon Sitkiewitz nominated Alderperson Brey for Plan Commission.

A motion was made by Vanderkin, seconded by Schlei, that Alderperson Brey be appointed to Plan Commission. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

L. APPOINTMENTS AND BUSINESS PRESENTED BY THE MAYOR

A motion was made by Schlei, seconded by Sitkiewitz, that these Standing Committee Appointments be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

M. ADJOURN

A motion was made by Schlei, seconded by Sitkiewitz, that this meeting be adjourned at 6:22 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings, Boldt, Reckelberg, Norell, Schlei, Sitkiewitz, Brey and DeBaets

Mackenzie Reed City Clerk