Special Events Committee (SEC) Membership

Term: May 1, 2024 through April 31, 2026

Committee Chair

• Erika Christel, Media and Special Events Coordinator

Voting Members

- Todd Blaser, Fire Chief
- Jason Freiboth, Assistant Police Chief
- Courtney Hansen, Tourism Director
- Dan Koski, Director of Public Infrastructure
- Eric Nycz, City Attorney

Non-voting Members

- Curt Hall
- Billy Hutterer
- Sandy Ronski
- Brock Wetenkamp
- Jennifer Swokowski

Special Events Committee (SEC) Purpose

The City of Manitowoc's Special Events Committee is an internal committee that meets weekly to ensure public events, walks and runs, parades, festivals, and tournaments occur within the City and as safely and successfully as possible. Each week the committee reviews Special Event Applications submitted by event organizers, conducts planning meetings with event organizers, recaps successes and challenges with recent events, and review special event related policies.

The committee is chaired by the Tourism Department's Media and Special Events Coordinator and comprised of staff from most City Departments. The Special Events Committee members with voting rights are the Fire Chief, Assistant Police Chief, Tourism Director, Director of Public Infrastructure, and City Attorney. Voting committee members are tasked with approving or denying events and fee waivers when requested.