

City of Manitowoc

900 Quay Street Manitowoc, WI 54220 www.manitowoc.org

Meeting Minutes

Common Council

Tuesday, April 18, 2023 5:00 PM Council Chambers

Note: This meeting will also be held via remote conferencing software (Zoom)

Organizational Session

A. CALL TO ORDER

B. ROLL CALL

Alderpersons Present: 10 - Jim Brey, Eric Sitkiewitz, Steven Czekala, Bill Schlei, Darian Kaderabek, Tim Boldt, Brett Vanderkin, Chad Beeman, Michael Cummings and Todd Reckelberg

C. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE & INVOCATION

D. NEWLY ELECTED COUNCIL MEMBERS TAKE OATH OF OFFICE

District 1: Brett Vanderkin District 2: Chad Beeman

District 3: Michael Cummings

District 7: Tim Boldt

District 10: Todd Reckelberg

E. NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT OF COMMON COUNCIL

Mayor Nickels announced that nominations were in order for the election of President of the Common Council, who also acts as the Chaplain. Alderperson Czekala nominated Alderperson Sitkiewitz. Alderperson Cummings nominated Alderperson Cummings. There being no other nominations, Alderperson Brey made a motion to close the nominations, seconded by Alder Czekala to close nominations.

F. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT OF COMMON COUNCIL

Alderperson Sitkiewitz is elected as President of the Common Council. The votes were as follows:

Alderperson Sitkiewitz: Beeman, Brey, Kaderabek, Sitkiewitz, Boldt, Schlei,

Czekala, Reckelberg

Alderperson Cummings: Vanderkin, Cummings

G. ALDERPERSON IS DECLARED ELECTED AS PRESIDENT (TAKES OATH)

Mayor declared Alderperson Sitkiewitz elected as President of the Common Council and the City Clerk administered the oath of office.

H. DRAWING FOR SEATS

Members proceeded to draw for seats with the results being as follows: Seat/Name - (1) Brey, (2) Schlei, (3) Kaderabek, (4) Beeman, (5) Czekala, (6) Boldt, (7) Cummings, (8) Vanderkin, (9) Reckelberg, (10) Sitkiewitz

I. SHORT RECESS TO TAKE NEW SEATS

J. ADOPTION OF COUNCIL CODE OF CONDUCT & COUNCIL RULES

23-0346 Common Council Rules 2023-2024

Moved by Schlei, seconded by Sitkiewitz, that the Common Council Rules be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

23-0347 Common Council Code of Conduct, April 2023

Moved by Sitkiewitz, seconded by Czekala, that the Code of Conduct be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

K. APPOINTMENTS AND BUSINESS PRESENTED BY THE MAYOR

A motion was made by Alderperson Sitkiewitz, seconded by Alderperson Czekala, that these Board and Commission Appointments be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

APPOINTMENTS AND BUSINESS PRESENTED BY THE MAYOR

Alderperson Sitkiewitz nominated Alderperson Brey for Plan Commission

A motion was made by Alderperson Sitkiewitz, seconded by Alderperson Schlei, that Alderperson Brey be appointed to Plan Commission. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

APPOINTMENTS AND BUSINESS PRESENTED BY THE MAYOR

A motion was made by Alderperson Cummings, seconded by Alderperson Reckelberg, that these Standing Committee Appointments be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

L. COMMITTEE REPORTS

1. Public Infrastructure Committee

23-0348 Report of Board of Public Works of 4/5/23, of bids received for 2023 Sanitary

Sewer Relay, Project WU-23-8

Moved by Czekala, seconded by Boldt, that this Report be awarded to low bidder. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

M. ADJOURN

A motion was made by Alderperson Sitkiewitz, seconded by Alderperson Czekala, that this meeting is adjourned at 5:25 p.m. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Brey, Sitkiewitz, Czekala, Schlei, Kaderabek, Boldt, Vanderkin, Beeman, Cummings and Reckelberg

Mackenzie Reed City Clerk